Wednesday, October 21, 2015

Supersuckers: "Holdin' the Bag" (album review)

The Supersuckers have long been a favorite of mine, both live and on record.  Nobody can swing between rock and country as flawlessly as they can.

After a string of albums on the rock side of things, and with lead singer Eddie Spaghetti battling throat cancer, they have finally returned with a country collection, Holdin' the Bag.

Very few acts have managed to celebrate sex, drugs, and rock n' roll quite like the Supersuckers.  Cue the How To on debauchery, "That's How It Gets Done" and the clever "All My Rowdy Friends (Have Settled Down)".

Despite their brash exterior, over the years the band has managed to pull off some surprisingly touching numbers.  In this case it's the quirky "High & Outside" as well as "I Can't Cry", a duet with the incomparable Lydia Loveless.

Things get cranked way up with the piano-pounder "Jibber-Jabber" and the humorous and rambunctious "Let's Bounce".

All in, it's just another fun record from a band that made a ton of them over their quarter century career.

Best tracks: "Let's Bounce", "This Life...With You"

Track listing for Hildin' the Bag:

  • Holdin' the Bag
  • This Life...With You
  • Man On a Mission
  • I Can't Cry
  • Let's Bounce
  • I Do What I Can (To Get By)
  • Jibber-Jabber
  • That's How It Gets Done
  • Shimmy & Shake
  • All My Rowdy Friends (Have Settled Down)

No comments: