Thursday, October 08, 2015

!!!: "As If" (album review)

!!! (or Chk Chk Chk for search engine purposes), have been churning out oddball dance music for nearly two decades.  On October 16th they return with another album to entice us to shake our asses, As If.

One of the most appealing elements of !!!'s music is that they are not afraid to slam a bunch of genres together to come up with their Frankensound.

The album kicks off in the funkiest way possible with the heavy beats of "All U Writers".  On the other end of the spectrum is the fast-paced, toe-tapping dance rock of "Every Little Bit Counts".

This time around the band introduce a more psychedelic, almost Madchester-esque vibe.  That crops up on songs like "Freedom! '15" and the infectious "Til the Money Runs Out".

In a move that's very out of character, the group verge close to pop territory with "Lucy Mongoosey", a track that boasts a lovely multi-vocalist refrain.

Some styles don't work as well as others.  When !!! goes for the modern R&B on "Sick Ass Man", it's a cue to tune out.  The same holds true for the rather mediocre EDM of "All the Way".

At it's heart As If is a fun ride that proves that dance music doesn't need to be mind-numbing.

Best tracks: "All U Writers", "Til the Money Runs Out"

Track listing for As If:
  • All U Writers
  • Sick Ass Man
  • Every Little Bit Counts
  • Freedom! '15
  • Ooo
  • All the Way
  • Til the Money Runs Out
  • Bam City
  • Funk (I Got This)
  • Lucy Mongoosey
  • I Feel So Free (Citation Needed)

No comments: