Wednesday, August 05, 2015

Lindi Ortega: "Faded Gloryville" (album review)

I love Lindi Ortega.  I think the world of her fun, self-confident take on modern country music.  Obviously then I was thrilled with the news that she would be releasing a new studio album, Faded Gloryville, on August 7th.

Ortega's voice possesses a rare quality.  She's able to big charming and witty while being quite forceful.  She's knows who she is, states it unwaveringly, yet you never feel like she's taking herself too seriously.  As a result, tracks like "Ashes" and "I Ain't the Girl" are strong but accessible.

The singer hits her stride with the gritty, bluesy "Tell It Like It Is".

A country aesthetic is added to the Bee Gees "To Love Somebody", making it sound closer to the Blue Rodeo cover than the original.

The standout "Rundown Neighborhood", with it's Nancy Sinatra-singing-country-music feel, is absolutely irresistible.  The clever turns of phrase on the up-tempo "Run A Muck" do give it a run for it's money though.

A handful of tracks do miss the mark.  The sluggish title track is particularly forgettable.

Ortega continues to put out vibrant and borderline essential contemporary country music.  There's no reason on Earth why she shouldn't be a huge star.

Best tracks: "Rundown Neighborhood", "Run A Muck"

Track listing for Faded Gloryville:
  • Ashes
  • Faded Gloryville
  • Tell It Like It Is
  • Someday Soon
  • To Love Somebody
  • When You Ain't Here
  • Rundown Neighborhood
  • I Ain't the Girl
  • Run A Muck
  • Half Moon

No comments: