Thursday, May 14, 2015

Anti-Flag: "American Spring" (album review)

You can't keep a good punk down.  On that cue, here comes Pittsburgh veterans Anti-Flag with their new album American Spring (out May 26th).

At this stage in their career, you pretty much know what you're going to get with an Anti-Flag record.  Fast-paced punk rock, some decent hooks, and a health (over)dose of politics sends everyone away sated.

Big, brash and bossy tracks like "Fabled World" and "Song For Your Enemy" are the call for the uprising.  By bringing everyone to the mic, "The Great Divide" also serves as a call to bring everyone to the barricades.

A good hook is crucial in making the difference between a punk tune getting you behind it, and a punk tune being unlistenable.  Anti-Flag has a bunch here with the catchy, guitar-shredding "Sky Is Falling", and the headbanging singalong "Break Something" leading the charge.

Everything is let loose on "Low Expectations".  It's a high speed banger that puts an exclamation mark on the album.

Nothing groundbreaking or boundary-pushing happens on American Spring, but nobody is really looking for that from Anti-Flag anymore.  You get exactly what you should from this record.

Best tracks: "Sky Is Falling", "Break Something"

Track listing for American Spring:
  • Fabled World
  • The Great Divide
  • Brandenburg Gate
  • Sky Is Falling
  • Walk Away
  • Song For Your Enemy
  • Set Yourself On Fire
  • All of the Poison, All of the Pain
  • Break Something
  • Without End
  • Believer
  • To Hell With Boredom
  • Low Expectations
  • The Debate Is Over (if you want it)

No comments: