Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Flaming Lips: "Imagene Peise- Atlas Eets Christmas" (album review)

With a modern day Christmas classic already under their belts (with the original "Christmas At the Zoo"), the Flaming Lips have decided to go full out and tackle some of the best known holiday songs out there on Imagene Peise- Atlas Eets Christmas.

The record starts off surprisingly tame.  The instrumental "Winter Wonderland" is built around the piano with only a hint of whir and crackle.  That continues on the elegant version of "Silver Bells".

Once "Christmas Laughing Waltz (with Jingle Bells)" hits you start to wonder what the heck is going on.  Is this going to be a fairly straight-laced and respectful holiday record?

The answer is: pretty much.

Just a dash of some guitar that sounds like a knife sharpening, and some disembodied, unintelligible, possibly heaven-sent vocals begin to appear on "Silent Night".

Even the original "Atlas Eets Christmas" doesn't get zany.  Wayne Coyne does add some vocals in, and there's some added percussion vibe, but it's still in keeping with the overall feel of the record.

In the end this is a Christmas album that is vintage at heart, with some tinsel of modern experimental on top.

Best tracks: "Silent Night", "Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"

Track listing for Imagene Peise- Atlas Eets Christmas:
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Silver Bells
  • Christmas Laughing Waltz
  • Silent Night
  • Atlas Eets Christmas
  • Do You Hear What I Hear?
  • Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  • White Christmas
  • Frosty the Snowman
  • Christmas Kindness Song
  • The Christmas Song

No comments: