Wednesday, November 05, 2014

Mr Gnome: "The Heart of a Dark Star" (album review)

If you're the type who searches for eclectic sound from your indie rock bands, then you really don't need to look a whole lot further than Cleveland's Mr Gnome.  The duo are set to release their new album, The Heart of a Dark Star, on November 18th.

The album gets underway with a track, "Melted Rainbow", that demonstrates the contrast that runs throughout.  The arrangement is very mechanical in rhythm and drive, while the vocals add a cherub-like air to the whole.

The bouncy fuzz (think dryer lint) of "Star Stealers" creates a charming warmth.  You feel almost shooed along by the scurrying "Rise & Shine", which also boasts a vocal refrain that seems intent on imitating a kazoo.  The most ear-pleasing melody comes courtesy of the quirky "Hangunder".

"Light" is the most successful of a series of spacey, laid back soothing tracks, most of which end up stepping into the realm of so-ethereal-they're-dull.

As the album nears it's finish, the vocals become more and more Karen O-ish.  It culminates with "Follow", a song that makes every effort to be epic.

The Heart of a Dark Star is not an every day record.  It does, however, include some nice aural combinations that will have you thinking of the possibilities.

Best tracks: "Melted Rainbow", "Star Stealers"

Track listing for The Heart of a Dark Star:
  • Melted Rainbow
  • Dark Star
  • Rise & Shine
  • Mustangs
  • Folk Lonely
  • Star Stealers
  • Storm
  • Light
  • Hangunder
  • Foals
  • Odyssey
  • Follow
  • No Place Like Home
  • The Sea

No comments: