Thursday, May 15, 2014

Chromeo: "White Women" (album review)

Montreal's Chromeo have made a career out of composing smart, off-kilter, edgy and fun electronic tracks.  Unfortunately, we don't get very many of those on their latest album White Women.

Much of the record is bland radio-friendly dance pop.  The opening track, "Jealous (I Ain't With It)" is a particularly fluffy affair.  Cuts like "Come Alive" (featuring Toro Y Moi) and "Play the Fool" offer precious little more weight.

The duo miss the mark with some of their moodier attempts as well.  The dark disco of "Over Your Shoulder" comes across as a "Rapture" imitation.  "Lost On the Way Home", featuring Solange, is an attempt at being seductive that ends up simply being boring.

Redemption comes in the form of the '80s-influenced jukebox tribute "Old 45s".  "Somethingood" serves up a much needed dose of energy.  Vampire Weekend's Ezra Koenig provides the vocals on the surprisingly subdued and soulful "Ezra's Interlude".

The lead single "Sexy Socialite" is the most compelling track on the record.  The song is cleverly constructed to be funky, energetic, and quirky while incorporating the album's wittiest lyrics.

Based on Chromeo's past output it's hard to categorize the bland White Women  as anything other than a cruel disappointment.

Best tracks: "Sexy Socialite", "Old 45s"

Track listing for White Women:
  • Jealous (I Ain't With It)
  • Come Alive
  • Over Your Shoulder
  • Sexy Socialite
  • Lost On the Way Home
  • Play the Fool
  • Hard To Say No
  • Ezra's Interlude
  • Old 45s
  • Somethingood
  • Frequent Flyer
  • Fall Back 2U

No comments: