Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Pkew Pkew Pkew (gunshots): "Glory Days" (album review)

In a scene that seems to be dominated by folk/rock/roots bands, Toronto party rockers Pkew Pkew Pkew (gunshots) are a breath of fresh air.  The band (finally) have a full length album out, Glory Days.  And it is glorious.

With drunken hand claps delivered with a punk rock attitude, these boys know how to do ramshackle anthems as well as anybody.  Tracks like "We're Gonna Do It Anyway" and the testosterone-heavy "Road To Victory" are impossible to resist.

Beneath the beer-drenched exterior is a band that knows how to pen a clever and humourous lyric.  The title track is a perfect example when they sing 'if those were your glory days, you must be real shitty now'.

The standout is the hook-laden "Asshole Pandemic", which appeared on the band's previous EP.  If there's any justice in the world it would be a monster hit.

"Stop Calling Us, Chief" will get your toes tapping.  The two part "Friends Don't Let Friends Move In With Girlfriends" is worthy of Hootenanny-era Replacements.

'We're all buddies and we all brought beers, so we're just gonna sit here drinking' is the final line on the record.  It's appropriate, and it's exactly what you should be doing when you listen to this awesome party soundtrack.

Pkew Pkew Pkew (gunshots) play the Silver Dollar in Toronto on December 6th.

Best tracks: "Asshole Pandemic", "Glory Days"

Track listing for Glory Days:
  • We're Gonna Do It Anyway
  • Stop Calling Us, Chief
  • Asshole Pandemic 
  • All We See Is Grey
  • Glory Days
  • Talking To Wendy
  • Road To Victory
  • Mon Cheri Marie
  • Friends Don't Let Friend Move In With Girlfriends (Part 1 & 2)
  • Pkewx3 Anthem (Ryde or Die)

No comments: