Thursday, September 19, 2013

Wordburglar: "Welcome To Cobra Island" (album review)

I'm not a huge hip hop fan, but even I get excited when there's a new Wordburglar album coming out.  How can you not love a guy with comes up with a gem like "Dude, Where's My At-At At?".

The Haligonian rapper releases his new album, the GI Joe-themed Welcome To Cobra Island, on September 24th.

The album opens with the title track, which has been set up to sound like a recruitment ad for mercenaries.  It serves to set the stage for the rest of the record as it unfolds like an episode of the cartoon.

The point-of-view of the storytelling changes back and forth between the Joes and the Cobra characters.  A trilogy of cuts, "A Letter To Snake Eyes", culminates with a patriotic fanfare mixed with spy movie theme song.

Of course, the most enjoyable tracks are those where Wordburglar takes the perspective of the bad guys.  His seething delivery as Cobra Commander on "Venomous Ideology", the Zartan-centric "The Guy With the Disguises", and "Call Destro" with it's laser beams slices, are all delightfully infectious.

For the most part, Welcome To Cobra Island is all about the lyrics.  One can't help but chuckle when Wordburglar name-checks Crocmaster, Big Boa, and Tomax, among others on "Rap-Viper".  It's one of the few songs on which the beats stand out as well.

All-in-all Welcome To Cobra Island is a fun record that hits the nostalgic sweet spot perfectly.

Best tracks: "Rap-Viper", "Chuckles (The Last Laugh)"

Track listing for Welcome To Cobra Island:
  • Welcome To Cobra Island
  • A Letter From Snake Eyes (Part 1)
  • Call Destro
  • Rap-Viper
  • A Letter From Snake Eyes (Part 2)
  • The Guy With the Disguises
  • Rank & File
  • I Don't Wanna Go to Cobra La
  • Fred Broca
  • Venomous Ideology
  • A Letter From Snake Eyes (Part 3)
  • Chuckles (The Last Laugh)

No comments: