Friday, March 01, 2013

Wildlife: "...On the Heart" (album review)

If I were forced to come up with a single adjective to describe the music of Toronto quartet Wildlife, that adjective would undoubtedly be 'grand'.  There is an impressive and imposing scope to their sound on the new album ...On the Heart (out March 5th).

It all begins with the thunderous head-bopping drumbeats of "Born To Ruin".  The lead single is a walloping arena-filling track that lacks any of the arena rock cliches.  Imagine U2 with a megaton of thump behind them.

Tracks like "Bad Dream" and "Bonnie" feed off soaring sky-high choruses.  Songs like "One for the Body" feature vast textured arrangements and unwavering energy, coming across as The Dears on meth.

Everything coalesces with "Dangerous Times".  The track is bright, vibrant, and enthusiastic thanks to a driving keyboard and slick hook.

Even the most meaty of bands sometimes need to take a breath to reset and regroup.  Wildlife does too.  When that comes in the form of less intense tracks like "Don't Fear", or the interludes "(Arrythmia)" and "(Pulse)" it comes as a bit of a letdown.

With even a modicum of luck Wildlife will surpass the kind of success far less talented bands like Glasvegas have enjoyed.

Wildlife play the Great Hall in Toronto on March 21st as part of Canadian Music Fest.

Best tracks: "Born To Ruin", "Dangerous Times"

Track listing for ...On the Heart:

  • If It Breaks
  • Born To Ruin
  • Bad Dream
  • One for the Body
  • Don't Fear
  • (Arrythmia)
  • Dangerous Times
  • Guillotine
  • Bonnie
  • (Pulse)
  • Lightning Tent
  • Two Hearts Race

No comments: