Thursday, March 14, 2013

Cold War Kids: "Dear Miss Lonelyhearts" (album review)

California rock quartet Cold War Kids are close to making their return.  The band are set to release their latest full length album, Dear Miss Lonelyhearts on April 2nd.

A New Wave choppiness comes through on the surprisingly catchy "Miracle Mile".  It's repeated with a darker, more angular feel on the Editors-esque "Loner Phase".

Keyboard reverb seems to be Cold War Kids' sound element du jour.  It's an underlying piece on many tracks, but takes the forefront on the warbly unrushed "Bottled Affection", a song that seems ripe for car commercial immortality.

Rock is the bread and butter of the band though.  The forceful and confident "Lost That Easy" is a strong statement, as is "Jailbirds", which sounds like an intense, less harried Afghan Whigs.  The slithering blues rocker "Tuxedos" even features a vocal that seems to attempt an impersonation of Mick Jagger.

Cold War Kids do have an unfortunately penchant for the melodramatic.  This time around it manifests on "Bitter Poem", the mundane "Fear & Trembling", and the uninspired title track.

Dear Miss Lonelyhearts isn't a groundbreaking record, and it has a number of snoozer tracks, however, with some clever use of the skip button, it can be an entertaining record.

Best tracks: "Miracle Mile", "Bottled Affection"

Track listing for Dear Miss Lonelyhearts:
  • Miracle Mile
  • Lost That Easy
  • Loner Place
  • Fear & Trembling
  • Tuxedos
  • Bottled Affection
  • Jailbirds
  • Water & Power
  • Dear Miss Lonelyhearts
  • Bitter Poem

No comments: