Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Bettye Lavette covers Tom Waits, Neil Young, The Black Keys on new album

R&B veteran Bettye Lavette will be releasing a new album.  Thankful N' Thoughtful, which comes out on September 24th, will mark her 50th year of recording.  She also has an autobiography coming out two days later.

The album is comprised of covers of songs written by everyone from Tom Waits to The Black Keys.

Here's the track list:
  • Everything is Broken (Bob Dylan) 
  • I’m Not the One (The Black Keys) 
  • Dirty Old Town (Ewan MacColl) 
  • The More I Search (The More I Die) (Kim McLean) 
  • I’m Tired (Chris Youlden) 
  • Crazy (Brian Burton/Thomas Callaway/Gian Piero Reverberi/Gian Franco Reverberi ) 
  • Yesterday Is Here (Tom Waits) 
  • Thankful N’ Thoughtful (Sly & The Family Stone) 
  • Fair Enough (Beth Nielsen Chapman) 
  • Time Will Do the Talking (Patty Griffin) 
  • Everybody Knows This is Nowhere (Neil Young) 
  • Dirty Old Town (slow version)

No comments: