Saturday, April 07, 2012

Jenny Gillespie: "Belita" (EP review)

Chicago singer/songwriter Jenny Gillespie definitely knows how to recruit help.  On her forthcoming EP Belita, out April 10th, she delivers five tracks backed by an impressive trio that includes percussionist Marc Ribot (Tom Waits), and multi-instrumentalist Shahzad Ismaily (Lou Reed).

The third member of her backing group is singer Sam Amidon.  It's Amidon who adds the most to Gillespie's songs.  Their vocals are often overlapped, like on the album opener "Creature of Our Make".  The concept seems like it should be annoying.  Quite the opposite is true though.  It actually makes for the most continuously compelling listens on the record.

Songs like "Wooden Bench" and "Sunshine Blood" showcase Gillespie's own gorgeous vocals.

The biggest complaint I can come up with about Belita is that it simply isn't long enough.  Give us more Jenny!

Best tracks: "Creature of Our Make", "Cheating Gong"

Track listing for Belita:
  • Creature of Our Make
  • Wooden Bench
  • Mariposa
  • Sunshine Blood
  • Cheating Gong

No comments: