Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Blinker The Star: "We Draw Lines" (album review)

It's been almost a decade since we last heard from Pembroke, ON's Blinker The Star.  On May 4th they break their silence with the release of the new studio album We Draw Lines.

The album kicks off with the energetic title track.  The piano-based pop rock sounds like The Fray with more edge.

A chunky bassline on "The Doctor" lends some heft.  Guitars squeal delightfully through the wooo-wooos of "Brain".

With nine years off there is some rust in the joints.  Despite an interesting underlying guitar bit, "Cheating Nighttime" feels like going through the motions.  "The Falls Behind" and "Keep On" are fairly generic adult alternative cuts.  The plodding pace of  "Burn Away" detracts from the lovely vocals that end the tune.

The surprising highlight is a cover of Kate Bush's "Running Up That Hill".  The piano, tumbling drums, and hushed vocals combine for a rendition that brings the original's dated sound into the new century without sacrificing any of the spooky intensity.

It's only fair to give Blinker The Star some time to get back into the swing of things.  So I'm willing to overlook the weaker elements of this record and take heart that a once great indie band is back and rolling.

Best tracks: "Running Up That Hill", "The Doctor"

Track listing for We Draw Lines:
  • We Draw Lines
  • Cheating Nighttime
  • Subtle Days
  • The Doctor
  • Running Up That Hill
  • The Falls Behind
  • Keep On
  • Brain
  • Burn Away
  • Let It Fall

No comments: