Monday, January 02, 2012

Seeker Lover Keeper: "Seeker Lover Keeper" (album review)

What do you get when you take three of the most talented Australian female singer/songwriters working today and put them together?  Why you get the new 'super-group' Seeker Lover Keeper and their debut self-titled album (out January 17th).

The trio is comprised of Sarah Blasko, Holly Throsby, and Sally Seltmann (best known here as the co-writer of Feist's smash hit "1234").

The vocal harmonies are definitely the focal point of the album.  They are simply haunting on the opening track "Bring Me Back".  It's a result of the hushed tones that are so often employed on the record.  Sometimes that comes across as innocence, as on "Light All My Lights", on other occasions, such as on "Theme I", it's almost ominous.

The arrangements subtle, so subtle in fact that as a listener several songs may go by before you realize that you haven't taken note of the instrumentation in a long while.

When you do notice, they are merely a complement to the vocals.  "On My Own", for example, they add a hypnotic feel to the song's methodical pace.  The tribal rhythms of "Everytime" act as a prompt for the almost ritualistic chant and responding backing vocals.

Elsewhere, casios are employed ("Rely On Me"), Imogen Heap-style piano comes into play ("If the Night Is Dark"), and a lush folk-tinged introduced ("We Will Know What It Is"), but the intertwining of the trio's voices are never really challenged as the stars of the production.

Seeker Lover Keeper is a bit of a sleepy record, but as such it serves well as the soundtrack to a dark, lonely late winter night.

Best tracks: "Rely On Me", "Everytime"

Track listing for Seeker Lover Keeper:

  • Bring Me Back
  • Light All My Lights
  • Even Though I'm A Woman
  • Bridges Burned
  • On My Own
  • Rely On Me
  • Theme I
  • Everytime
  • We Will Know What It Is
  • If the Night Is Dark
  • Going To Sleep
  • Rest Your Head On My Shoulder

No comments: