Thursday, April 14, 2011

Movits!: "Out Of My Head" (album review)

Somehow the satirically conservative Stephen Colbert is becoming an arbiter of what's cool.  One of his most recent discoveries is Swedish trio Movits!, whom he introduced to North American television.  The band have capitalized by releasing their sophomore album Out Of My Head.

To say this is a record like none other may be a bit of an exaggeration, but it's not a huge one.  The band combine hip hop with elements of jazz, swing, and big band to create an incredibly fresh sound.  Saxophone, trombone, clarinet, and accordion are among the instruments the group uses to great effect.

The boogie woogie of "Marching Band?" and "Pa Drift, Norrbotten" are relentlessly danceable.  Jazz shuffles like "I Andrahand" tear the place down, as does the name-dropping hit "Sammy Davis Jr".  The result is what you would expect if Matisyahu were to rap in Swedish with the backing of Big Bad Voodoo Daddy.

Lyric translations are available on the band's website, but I think it's far more fun to just listen and go with the flow (like one would with Sigur Ros).  It makes it more interesting when you do catch understandable fragments like 'R2-D2', "Robert Zimmerman', or 'Remington Steele'.

In the end it really doesn't matter whether you understand what's going on or not because the music on Out Of My Head will leave you with a serious case of Stockholm Syndrome.

Best tracks: "Sammy Davis Jr", "Na Na Nah!"

Track listing for Out Of My Head:

  • Vad Dom An Sager
  • Na Na Nah!
  • Sammy Davis Jr
  • I Andrahand
  • Pa Drift, Norrbotten
  • Marching Band?
  • One Take- Take One
  • 40 Bars
  • Kulturarbetarblues
  • Skjut Mig i Huvet
  • Huvudvarken
  • Balaclavaboogie

Movits!'s website

Bookmark and Share

No comments: