Saturday, April 18, 2015

Friday, April 17, 2015

Friday Find: Gold Complex

For those who like: Fishbone, Pink Martini

Combining funk, soul, and rock n' roll, Toronto's Gold Complex recently released their debut EP.

Listen to "Backbone" here:

Thursday, April 16, 2015

Kathryn Calder: "Kathryn Calder" (album review)

For years Kathryn Calder was arguably the most underappreciated element in the New Pornographers.  Now she has a string of solid solo albums behind her, with the most recent self-titled addition dropping in our laps earlier this week.

Fans of Calder's previous work may be in for a bit of a surprise this time around though.  She has chosen to hang up much of the bright sunshiny pop that marked her earlier work.  In it's place is a more atmospheric sound that focuses on lovely vocals coating in a reflective sheen of arrangement.

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Alabama Shakes: "Sound & Color" (album review)

Alabama Shakes really struck gold with their debut album Boys & Girls, now just about three years later they are returning with the follow-up Sound & Color (out April 20th).

For one reason or another, the first record simply passed me by, so I come to Sound & Color without a preconceived idea of what to expect.  I come away from it wondering what all the fuss is about.

Too many of the songs are unremarkable.  They have a vaguely souful falsetto vocal laid down atop a plodding arrangement.  It's all quite pedestrian and well, rather lifeless.

Tuesday, April 14, 2015

The Wooden Sky: "Saturday Night" (video)

Toronto's The Wooden Sky (or as they are better known around my house, Polish roots band The Woodensky) release their new album Let's Be Ready on June 16th.  They just debuted a video for the track "Saturday Night".

Watch it here:

New releases for Apr 14th: Calexico, Villagers

  • Bop English
  • Calexico
  • The Damnwells
  • Lowland Hum
  • Suuns
  • Villagers

Monday, April 13, 2015

This week in Toronto concerts: Kodaline, Earl Sweatshirt, Jose Gonzalez

Tony Bennett sachets his way across the stage at Roy Thompson Hall on Friday.  The red hot Irish rockers Kodaline take over the Danforth Music Hall for two nights Friday and Saturday.

...also this week:
  • The Soft Moon, Apr 13
  • The Devil Wears Prada, Apr 13
  • Jose Gonzalez, Apr 13
  • MeWithoutYou, Apr 13
  • Dan + Shay, Apr 14
  • Earl Sweatshirt, Apr 14
  • Moon King, Apr 14
  • Nightwish, Apr 14
  • Bright Light Social Hour, Apr 15
  • Marian Hill, Apr 15
  • Testament, Apr 15
  • Seoul, Apr 15
  • Randy Bachman, Apr 15
  • Shlomo, Apr 17
  • The Used, Apr 19

Sunday, April 12, 2015

Toronto concerts announced this week: Faith No More, Shad, Merchandise

  • Joe Pug, Smiling Buddha Bar, May 8
  • Holiday Mountain, Drake Underground, May 13
  • Lo-Fang, Mod Club, May 14
  • Shad, Echo Beach, May 25
  • Low Cut Connie, Horseshoe Tavern, May 27
  • Merchandise, The Garrison, Jun 3
  • Colin Stetson, Great Hall, Jun 9
  • White Lung, Adelaide Hall, Jun 20
  • Sticky Fingers, The Garrison, Jul 15
  • Rise Against, Echo Beach, Jul 19
  • Faith No More, Ricoh Coliseum, Aug 7

Saturday, April 11, 2015

Friday, April 10, 2015

Friday Find: The Ladybugs

For those who like: Norah Jones, olde tyme jazz

A-shoo-be-doot-scattle-toot here are The Ladybugs from Brooklyn.  1930's jazz somehow sounds fresh in their hands.

Listen to "I'm Crazy 'Bout My Baby" here: